Petition to Stop the Proposed Quarry

Premier Ford, keep your Promise to Milton


WHEREAS everyone in Ontario deserves clean drinking water, clean air to breathe and a safe community to live in;

WHEREAS the ongoing pursuit to obtain a licence for the Reid Road Reservoir Quarry, if granted, puts at risk Campbellville and Milton’s water and will negatively impact the community’s air quality and safety; 

WHEREAS pedestrians, school children, cyclists, and local commuters and those on the 401 will be endangered by the 60,000 gravel truck trips projected annually and the blasting within 100 meters of the 401;

WHEREAS the Town of Milton and the Region have all confirmed by resolution that they are opposed to the proposed Quarry; 

WHEREAS in 2020 Premier Ford at a public meeting in Milton said he would make sure the proposed Reid Road Reservoir Quarry doesn’t happen, which was confirmed on March 27th , 2024 by his PC candidate for Milton, Zeeshan Hamid, at a community meeting;

WHEREAS it is a complete waste of taxpayers time and money to continue with a proponent driven Environmental Assessment of the proposed Quarry, which the community and all levels of government are opposed to;  

WE THE UNDERSIGNED petition the Legislative Assembly of Ontario to stop wasting taxpayers money; to terminate the Environmental Assessment; to deny a licence to extract aggregate or to operate an asphalt/concrete reprocessing facility at the Reid Quarry in Campbellville; and to permanently protect the subject lands by making it conservation lands for enjoyment by all residents of Ontario.

Who's signing

Wendy Hoernig
Lee Preney
Ann Truyens
Peter Fortuna
ingrid kern
Cathy Cronin
Lynn Bennett
Janet Herman
Stewart Hamill
Donna McCaw
Mary Marcon
Paul Larsen
Carolyn Heath
John W. & M Wildon Wilson
Cathy Cripps
Robert Bouskill
Glenn Root
Karen Root
Kate Carveth
Katia Diab
Denise Parsons
Andrea Heaney
Josee Portelance
Marie Weiss
Mike Bujold
Denise Portelance
Tanya Ilao
Sharon Craven
Marilyn Pickett
Rosalyn Gluck
625 signatures

Will you sign?

Showing 436 reactions

  • Wendy Hoernig
    signed 2024-04-24 12:10:47 -0400
    A moratorium is essential on on the giving out of licences for any additional gravel extraction sites, until the existing companies have been required to rehabilitate the sites that have been mined out in a timely fashion (without sneaky delaying tactics to avoid this requirement), and until the totally undemocratic denial of citizens and communities to have any say on what happens to their land and communities is reversed.

    Wendy Hoernig
  • Lee Preney
    signed 2024-04-24 12:03:11 -0400
  • Ann Truyens
    signed 2024-04-24 11:24:22 -0400
  • Peter Fortuna
    signed 2024-04-24 11:20:34 -0400
  • ingrid kern
    signed 2024-04-24 10:28:03 -0400
    I understand the need for aggregates for homes and highways, but there are still 2000 older, unrehabilitated gravel pits in southern Ontario.

    Who is responsible for their re-naturalization ??

    The original owners have walked away scott free, while the local ratepayers pay for it.

    We currently mine far more aggregate than is needed for Ontario.

    Where is the balance sold to ??

    This info is difficult to find.

    Are we raping our beautiful landscape for a handful of American dollars ??
  • Cathy Cronin
    signed 2024-04-24 10:25:40 -0400
  • Lynn Bennett
    signed 2024-04-24 10:09:13 -0400
  • Janet Herman
    signed 2024-04-24 10:05:44 -0400
  • Stewart Hamill
    signed 2024-04-24 09:52:20 -0400
  • Donna McCaw
    signed 2024-04-24 09:29:32 -0400
  • Mary Marcon
    signed 2024-04-24 09:27:06 -0400
  • Paul Larsen
    signed 2024-04-24 09:26:01 -0400
  • Carolyn Heath
    signed 2024-04-24 09:06:09 -0400
  • John W. & M Wildon Wilson
    signed 2024-04-24 09:05:10 -0400
  • Cathy Cripps
    signed 2024-04-24 09:05:10 -0400
  • Robert Bouskill
    signed 2024-04-24 09:02:12 -0400
  • Glenn Root
    signed 2024-04-24 07:54:14 -0400
  • Karen Root
    signed 2024-04-24 07:17:12 -0400
  • Kate Carveth
    signed 2024-04-23 20:49:41 -0400
  • Katia Diab
    signed 2024-04-23 20:41:49 -0400
  • Denise Parsons
    signed 2024-04-23 20:05:40 -0400
  • Andrea Heaney
    signed 2024-04-23 20:00:52 -0400
  • Josee Portelance
    signed 2024-04-23 19:30:20 -0400
  • Marie Weiss
    signed 2024-04-23 19:16:03 -0400
  • Mike Bujold
    signed 2024-04-23 19:08:08 -0400
  • Denise Portelance
    signed 2024-04-23 18:53:36 -0400
  • Tanya Ilao
    signed via 2024-04-23 16:47:33 -0400
  • Sharon Craven
    signed via 2024-04-23 16:44:16 -0400
  • Marilyn Pickett
    signed via 2024-04-23 16:24:55 -0400
  • Rosalyn Gluck
    signed 2024-04-23 14:15:03 -0400